Brew Crew bashes Boys from the Bay Game 57

Juan Perez and Michael Morse make Bert feel like one of them

Juan Perez and Michael Morse make Bert feel like one of them

Just another game, that followed the old pattern of some early action( 6 hits in the 1st few innings)but not one extra base hit when needed. It was not a long ball day and no small ball attempted. Peavy couldn’t complete 6 and came up with his 3rd loss as a Giant, with no wins. He allowed 9 hit( 4 doubles) to give the Brewers the 3 runs needed to take the game. A lost series, although the 33-23 away record, is still a good one. Le Anne and I are willing to take Larry Baer up on his offer to watch more home games from his owners box. We would be glad to bring our 81 for 93 magic and turn around the unsatisfactory home record. Le Anne will be waiting for Larry’s call.

The ladies view-I am sitting here trying to remember what happened yesterday, and it seems like a long time since the loss of yesterday. Of note was a gracious conversation with Morse and Perez, followed by a picture together. The reason for the trip in the 1st place was Bert’s dream to live the life of a ball player and the guys really made him “feel like one of them”. As for the game we began with lunch- Bert had a turkey wrap and I had cheese curds in a canoe. They are a typical Wisconsin treat and reminded me of mozzarella sticks

Cheese curd in a canoe

Cheese curd in a canoe

Bert enjoys a turkey wrap

Bert enjoys a turkey wrap

I sat next to an obnoxious Brewers fan who continued with berating comments the entire game. I thought Peavy was much improved and I expect a win from him soon.
I went to the ladies room, and this is noteworthy in that in the majority of cases each time I leave my seat and go to the ladies room the Giants get a run. Bert thinks it may be 100% of the time. I told him the Giants needed help so I was going and sure enough they got their only run. I also got us Blue Belle turtle pops while I was up. It was something sweet to concentrate on, instead of Mr. Mouth next to me who didn’t have a nice thing to say about my beloved Giants the entire game.

Our seats were good but for a day game the seats between 1st and home plate are better because they are not in the sun. We were in section 225 row 14 this time. The view was reasonable except for 2 ladies with tall straw hats which partially obstructed the view.

View from 225 row 14 Loge level seats

View from 225 row 14 Loge level seats

View from 225

View from 225

After the game we scrambled for the bus, but arrived in time for the last bus, which we knew from the previous night wouldn’t leave until 30 minutes after game time, and it is a generous 30 minutes. We opted for a cab, and apparently Bert was slow because after missing 2 of them, we thought we were next and so did another couple. They were staying at the same hotel so suggested we share. It was a delightful conversation, then we hurriedly scrambled for the luggage and a cab to the airport so we could pick up the rental car at the Enterprise. The cab driver was a Brewers fan 1st, but a lover of the game of baseball 2nd. He and Bert had a lively discussion about the game and we arrived at the airport quickly.

Curt, Bert, Le Anne, and Cathy from NYC

Curt, Bert, Le Anne, and Cathy from NYC

The Enterprise car rental experience was not the best. We rented a car from Milwaukee to KC and it was pricey because we were dropping it off in another location. The lady at the counter wouldn’t help me link this reservation to the one in my previous name. She was rude, and if this had been my 1st experience with Enterprise I wouldn’t use them again. I also asked if she could speak to KC Enterprise location and arrange for us not to have to return this car and pick one up. We knew we would be getting in between 2 and 3am, and to drive this car to the airport, and pick up an identical car so we could pay local rates instead of the inflated long distance rate seemed like a courtesy they could extend to a loyal customer, especially since it would cost them nothing. She wouldn’t help on this either. We got the car and arrived in KC at 230 am and checked in to the hotel. We had breakfast at IHOP then headed the 45 minutes to the airport to exchange the car for a like vehicle, then 45 minutes back to the hotel.
We chose the Staybridge Suites because they advertised they were minutes to the stadium. We will be lucky if there is no traffic to be able to make it parking lot to parking lot in less than 30 minutes. They also advertise free Wi-Fi. In my opinion they are misleading on this also since you can’t get wi-fi on your cell phone. I complained and the manager did say they are investing in upgrading the routers, and he allowed me to use his personal hot spot to try to upload photos for the blog. Unfortunately only about 1/2 uploaded, and the wi-fi on the laptop in so slow I have given up until I get home or some place where I have real wi-fi. I am grabbing an hour nap and the off to the stadium. Go Giants! From the time we left the Pfister in Milwaukee, which was my favorite hotel, things have taken a plummet. A win tonight and this annoyance will be forgotten.
Until,
Bert and Le Anne

One comment

  1. eronat3

    Sorry you had such a difficult trip to KC. I’m sure last night’s game didn’t help matters either. A sad one to be sure. Hope things begin to look up today (Saturday).

Leave a Reply

